Rugby Union 3 years ago

All Blacks Team To Face Springboks in The Rugby Championship Round 2 - Thoughts?

  • All Blacks Team To Face Springboks in The Rugby Championship Round 2 - Thoughts?

The All Blacks squad has been named to face the Springboks in Johannesburg, with test debuts to Lima Sopoaga and James Broadhurst.  There is nothing like throwing these guys in the deep end against the Springboks in the cauldron of Ellis Park.  

Other selections of interest are Dane Coles returning at hooker, while Liam Messam gets a rare start at blindside flanker.  Charles Piutau and Ben Smith are on the wings, with Dagg slowly returning to form from fullback, meaning that all of the back three are potential fullbacks capable of defusing the Springboks tactical kicking.

You might also like

Malakai Fekitoa, Beauden Barrett and Victor Vito will finally get some game-time off the bench.  

The good news for Sopoaga and Broadhurst are that they are surrounded by so much experience with the squad including two centurions and five other players with over 50 test caps.

Sopoaga will have familiar faces in Ben Smith and Aaron Smith from the Highlanders in the starting lineup and Malakai Fekitoa off the bench.

Richie McCaw will be expected to play 80 minutes at altitude as he is the only specialist openside flanker in the squad with the responsibility of taking care of Heinrich Brussow at the breakdown.  Hopefully the supporting cast of Liam Messam and Kieran Read can assist him.

What do you think of the All Blacks squad to face the Springboks?  

I think it is great that the All Blacks have the confidence to blood new players in such an important test match, knowing there is plenty of experience around them.

The team is:

1. Tony Woodcock  (112)
2. Dane Coles (27)
3. Owen Franks (69)
4. Brodie Retallick (38)
5. James Broadhurst
6. Liam Messam (41)
7. Richie McCaw - captain (139)
8. Kieran Read (74)
9. Aaron Smith (38)
10. Lima Sopoaga
11. Charles Piutau (16)
12. Ma'a Nonu (95)
13. Conrad Smith (85)
14. Ben Smith (38) 
15. Israel Dagg (48)

16. Codie Taylor (1)
17. Wyatt Crockett (38)
18. Ben Franks (41)
19. Samuel Whitelock (63)
20. Victor Vito (26)
21. TJ Perenara (12)
22. Beauden Barrett (28)
23. Malakai Fekitoa (8)


0 0
please wait...