Rugby Union 3 years ago

Nonu crowned NZ rugby player of the year

  • Nonu crowned NZ rugby player of the year

Ma'a Nonu has made one last big impact in New Zealand rugby, being named player of the year at the code's annual awards.

The barnstorming inside centre has seen off Test teammates Dan Carter, Ben Smith and Dane Coles to win the major prize with the All Blacks also rewarded for their Rugby World Cup triumph.

They've won team of the year for a fifth successive year while Steve Hansen has been named coach of the year for a fourth year in a row.

You might also like

Jamie Joseph and the Highlanders made a strong case in both categories after snaring a maiden Super Rugby title but they couldn't compete with a historic third Rugby World Cup crown from the national team.

Highlanders five-eighth Lima Sopoaga was named Super Rugby player of the year at Friday's awards evening in Auckland.

Other major awards were won by Canterbury halfback Kendra Cocksedge (women), All Blacks winger Nehe Milner-Skudder (Maori) and Auckland centre George Moala (NPC) while sevens awards were scooped by Scott Curry (men) and Tyla Nathan-Wong (women).

Carter was named World Rugby's player of the year shortly after the World Cup but he didn't have the same form in Super Rugby as Nonu, who shone for beaten finalists the Hurricanes.

Both players have since left for club contracts in France, with Test centurion Nonu having made his Toulon debut last week.

The 33-year-old showed his gratitude in a video message.

"I've really been humbled and grateful to be part of the All Blacks and representing my country," he said.


Overall: Ma'a Nonu (Hurricanes and All Blacks)

Women: Kendra Cocksedge (Canterbury)

Super Rugby: Lima Sopoaga (Highlanders)

NPC: George Moala (Auckland)

Maori: Nehe Milner-Skudder

Men's sevens: Scott Curry

Women's sevens: Tyla Nathan-Wong

Heartland Championship: Lindsay Horrocks (Wanganui)

Age Grade: Akira Ioane (Auckland)


Team: All Blacks

Coach: Steve Hansen (All Blacks)

Referee: Glen Jackson (Bay of Plenty)

Outstanding contribution: Mike Eagle (Canterbury)

0 0
please wait...